Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright first, I'm a newbie go ahead, let me have it.:flipoff2: Second I HAVE searched and read til I think I'm blind. I've read some conflicting stuff so I just want to ask so someone can verify for sure. I'm shortening a Ford LP Dana 44 for the front of my TJ (Chevy outers & spindles for 5 on 5.5"). Cutting off about 3" so it will land about 64" WMS to WMS. I'll be running a CV front driveshaft, and around 36-38" tires. I'm building it with hysteer arms and shoving the front axle forward 2 to 3". My question, with the pinion pointed at just below the T-case out. What castor angle should help eliminate the "Death Wobble"? I know I need to cut and turn my inner knuckles, I just need to know when to stop turning. Some posts have sworn by 1-2 deg. and others 4-5 deg. And also just for clarification, positive caster is top of the knuckle rotated toward the rear of the jeep, right?:confused:
You guys are gods.
Don't hurt me too bad.

·
Registered
7,719 Posts
all those caster numbers look good

you don't need shit loads of caster - it causes problems

I would shoot for 3 deg

you are correct about positive caster. you want a line throught the kingpin to point in front of the tire contact patch

see what people here are running for castor and how they like it

my cruiser has 0-.5 deg (it sucks)

my tacoma has 1.5 deg i believe (doesn't drive extremely straight but that may be due to the bent frame)

a fullsize chevy has 3 deg (drives very straight)

some idiots run 7 deg (probably have issues)

·
Premium Member
4,628 Posts
indyTJ said: