Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a friend that has an 06 Chevy Duramax 2500 HD automatic. I have never dealt with chevy diesels so I am totally new to the game. He has 4" exhaust and cold air intake already installed. What would you guys recommend? Is there a good forum for Chevy diesels?

Thanks

·
Registered
698 Posts
I have the same truck. I used a Bully Dog programmer trying to get better mileage. The trip computer shows a lot more mileage gain than my pocket calculator. I think part of the way it "improves" mileage is by recalculating consumption more optimistically. The power gains are very significant in the higher settings, but I never run it on those settings since I'm only interested in better mileage. Overall, I don't think I'm saving enough fuel to pay for the programmer.

·
Registered
6,531 Posts
I have a friend that has an 06 Chevy Duramax 2500 HD automatic. I have never dealt with chevy diesels so I am totally new to the game. He has 4" exhaust and cold air intake already installed. What would you guys recommend? Is there a good forum for Chevy diesels?

Thanks
dieselplace.com kirk

·
Registered
9,370 Posts
x2 on dp.com, learned so much there since getting my Dirty Max in November...I went with the PPE, love it...but a lot of the guys swear by EFI Live

·
Registered
4,914 Posts
EFILive.

A friend of mine attended a tuning class in WI specifically for the DMaxes and is reputable enough in the area that the local dealership is having him tune trucks for them. He claims that you can get mid 20s for mileage out of them fairly easily with a good tune.

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
EFILive.

A friend of mine attended a tuning class in WI specifically for the DMaxes and is reputable enough in the area that the local dealership is having him tune trucks for them. He claims that you can get mid 20s for mileage out of them fairly easily with a good tune.