Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Best way to slow down building a buggy.
I've been putzing with this for a few months.

I just couldn't grind off the slag from my hand torching in my garage. Things are dirty enough.

This is what I was trying to avoid. (Sorry for throwing AZ under the bus, he does SUPER work) I can finsh parts out of this with a file. Capacity is 29x30.5. I can cut parts from a .dxf drawing (if anybody is interested in making this a business venture). Enjoy, MIKE

·
Registered
3,914 Posts
Mike is that a torch mate table, We were looking at getting one with a hypertherm 1000 plasma torch with an adjustable x axis.. what are your first impressions. of the quality of the cuts you get and how is the kerf

·
Registered
456 Posts
aw comeon guys thats old school i will post some pics of what we use in the morn.

·
Registered
2,466 Posts
zukzilla4x4 said:
aw comeon guys thats old school i will post some pics of what we use in the morn.

Ya, it might be old school, but its fawkin bad ass for a home shop. No reason to rain on the guys parade. :shaking:

:flipoff2:

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The table is scratch built. And I did all of the work in my home shop. Let's not forget, I too work at a machine shop. The plasma cutter we have at the shop cost 2x more than I have in the whole ball of wax. I could always hang a plasma torch on it, but why? My kerf is .050" through 3/16" & 1/4". The cuts are clean. And this one is 70' from my shitter, 3' from my little fridge and I made it without any plan. Torch Mates start at about 4x what I have in this one. I looked at them, nice machine. I am also space challenged, hence the smaller size. Tonight I cut 8 shock mounts, rubbed them on the floor and they came out better than my finest hand work (job? not that good, but close) after a half hour of grinding. I thought some of you folks would like seeing a different tube frame than usual. MIKE