Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sorting through my options, trying to pick the best plan of attack. please tell me of your hydro set up. what you like? Simplest set up?

1. option: gwyn lewis has a bolt on set up for d1/rrc/def. that's for the 4 bolt box. can I change to that box? is it a more durable option? less torque?

2. option: toddco offers a ram and wants you to send your box and pump in to have them tapped and turned up. anyone running this? I do not see the need for the send in the box. could I not just tee into a line and tee off of the bleed screw? however, I have no experience turning up pressure on a pump. can I diy the pressure tuning? sounds like just a little dicking with a spring or shims

I have been waiting on a reply to my inquiry for over 2 weeks from them.

3. option: if I can diy (as mentioned above) I should be able to use any ram that fits, right?

So whatcha running for assist? Not opposed to full hydro. Just think it's overkill for my modest set up. I would like to keep my box and pump for simplicity.
Thanks for any direction

·
whatever
1,500 Posts
The d2 stock steering should be fine pushing 35's...I pushed my front axle 2" forward, but I always planned on 37's so I went whole hog and ditched the stock setup for full hydro...

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
So, the wife is doing the complaining. No plans of ever going bigger than 35/36". If sticking a ram in and tapping the box fixes that.....on it. If it isn't going to make a difference....it is what it is.
I have searched. Sorry I did not see assist on d2, nor anything on the bolt on options. Saw a shit ton of hydro set ups, though. I am still searching. It would have been great to search and find the info that I'm looking for. Instead of replying that "I do, in fact, know how to use the search feature."so, I am still searching

I pushed axle forward....1.75"