Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there,

i am new to the jeep scene, so i have very little experiance with the dana 30 and 35 axles. I am planning on installing a '87 5.0 and np435 transmission this march and was wondering if the front and rear axles could handle it? what about with 35" tires?

if not, can i do anything to strengthen them and avoid a full axle swap?

any offroading i do will be pretty mild, nothign really rough...

thanks,
-Chris

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
You'll be fiiiiiiiiine...

Go ahead & swap in yer 5.0. While you're at it, bolt on around 10-12" of lift, and run some 39 or 42" tires. Be sure to get lockers in BOTH axles though, or all that horsepower from the 5.0 will be lost to wheel spin.

Friendly advice:
Whatever you do, though... DON'T listen to the people who tell you to go to JU. Those JeepsUnlimited dudes are HARD core, and will tear you a new asshole for asking such a stoopid fawkin' question.

·
Registered
12,465 Posts
Kilby said:
You'll be fiiiiiiiiine...

Go ahead & swap in yer 5.0. While you're at it, bolt on around 10-12" of lift, and run some 39 or 42" tires. Be sure to get lockers in BOTH axles though, or all that horsepower from the 5.0 will be lost to wheel spin.

Friendly advice:
Whatever you do, though... DON'T listen to the people who tell you to go to JU. Those JeepsUnlimited dudes are HARD core, and will tear you a new asshole for asking such a stoopid fawkin' question.
Damn......took the words right outta SOMEONE's mouth ;) :flipoff2:

Please God, make this stop.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
hahaha, damn, i haven't been flamed that bad in YEARS!!!!

the 8.8s still in the markvii and i know where to dig up a dana 44.

thanks for the "help" :flipoff2: ;)

-Chris

·
Registered
2,479 Posts