Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,951 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought an M103A3 trailer (basically just a 10ft flatbed version of the popular M105 military trailer). I want to turn this into an enclosed trailer, so I took some measurements and this is what I've come up with. But I've never built an enclosed trailer before, and I don't have any idea what type of materials I should be using. Not trying to build a rollcage, but it needs to be able to survive the bumps and scrapes you'd expect to encounter when taking a trailer places it wasn't meant to go. I'm going to be towing this trailer behind an M109 that I'm converting into a motorhome, and it will be going off-road.

The plan is to mount it to the deck using the stake pockets, so I can remove the enclosure (using my towbar A-frame hoist). Then I'll have a flatbed trailer and a shed. This is something that I'll probably only do when I'm setting up camp somewhere for an extended period of time, or when I have a specific need for a flatbed trailer, but I like the idea of having the option.

The red tubing is 2 x 2" x .120-wall.
The yellow tubing is 1 x 2" x .120-wall.
The blue tubing is 1 x 2" x .090-wall.
The pink tubing is 1.25" round x .120-wall (fits into a slot at the front of the trailer deck)

SolidWorks tells me that this combination of tubing should weigh about 623lbs. Plus, it's going to have a small door on the front right side for easy access, as well as a fold-down rear door / ramp.

I haven't decided what type of assist-mechanism I'm going to use on the rear door, but I'm leaning towards something like a torsion-type garage door spring. I do know that I want to be able to lock the door into position when it's horizontal, so I can use it as an extension of the trailer deck.

What do you guys think? I'd like to get some input on the overall design and materials before I start cutting and welding anything.

·
Registered
3,951 Posts
Discussion Starter #3