Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I am not a rocket scientist when it comes to diffs/gearing.

I have never run Detroits before now. Put a detroit in the rear and a tru-trac in the front. This truck has ALWAYS had a whine, No matter what the tolerances in either or any of the 3 diffs (center included).

Now I know about the clanking of a detroit, (experienced that when I first put it in, now quiet) but now after about 1200 miles of highway and trails I am getting a whine like a pinion noise off throttle that appears to be coming from the rear. The pinion was NOT touched during set up. (drop in diff style for you non rover guys)

I know that detroits inherently have some slop, but that shouldn't affect the pinion right?

TIA

j

·
Registered
3,481 Posts
your gears were set up wrong rangie. Sounds like you also reused your old 3.54's as well, thats probably not good, as the old gears were probably pretty worn. As for the detroit in a rover making noise, It should not make any noise except a barely audible ratchet around corners, but most of the time you will not hear it. Mine is dead quiet, and I run a tru trac up front as well. who set up your gears, and what method did they use.

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did, and they were done almost exactly to the method you and I commented to on the topic on the rover board.

Running at 6thou with the original gearing. However, the whine does not SOUND like a true bearing or side gear whine. The gears where clean with NO discoloration or pitting at all, and about 7 thou when I took out the other.

The ratcheting sound has gone completely away. It was big a couple of times, (at least to me) but that was right after install. Went away quickly.

I am beginning to think that the gears were more worn than I thought. Would the detroit diff actentuate the pinion tolerance? I was thinking the opposite.

j

·
Registered
2,275 Posts