Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have never really read up much on Jeeps since i own a fullsize, so i am looking for some info. I searched, but to no avail. I basically want to know the differences in all the Jeep models. I have some knowledge and was wanting either confirmation that i am correct, and if i'm not, let me know if i am a dumbass.

CJ 5
- What is considered as the typical "jeep." Short wheel base, narrow axles and frame and has round headlights. Predecessor to the CJ 7

CJ 7
- Longer wheelbase, wider stance, round headlights, Predecessor to the Wrangler

Wrangler YJ
- i have no clue what the difference between this and the CJ 7 is other than didn't this have square headlights?

Wrangler TJ
- same thing as YJ, but with round headlights

XJ
- The boxy looking cherokee?

ZJ
- Grand Cherokee

Willys
- Old style war jeep

Do the jeep trucks, like the comanche, have the letters for them, also?

Am i leaving anything out as far as models go?

Don't all 4WD jeeps have a straight axle up front beside the grand cherokee?

Which ones are leaf sprung and which are coil sprung?

How full of shit am I? Let me know what i am wrong about and what decent info i left out. I'm just trying to put this into one forum because i'm sure i'm not the only clueless fullsize-er when it comes to Jeeps.

Also, what is a Renegade?

Thanks,
Trip

·
Premium Member
12,214 Posts
You left out several models most importantly the CJ6...not to mention
MB, GPW, CJ2 CJ3 CJ3b (missing link CJ4) CJ8, CJ10, (NEVER SEEN A CJ9) j10, j20, j30, KAISERS....on and on... Jeepter's, comando's

web search for history of Jeep,,,

http://www.4wdonline.com/Jeep/Jeep.History.html

·
Registered
3,173 Posts
yeup, check up on those websites. you can be a fullsize guy and a jeep guy at the same time... check out my webpage.

·
Registered
1,219 Posts