Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to pick up a '94 22re to drop into my '85. Any major difference between the two I should be aware of? Emissions stuff pretty much the same?

·
Read Only
234 Posts
The TB's are different. The new TB does away with idle air control valve. You'll have to reuse the TPS and paw off the 85 or change the plug on the wiring harness. Other than that everthing else should work fine.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Complete newbie dumbass question, but didn't they change the fuel injection system sometime in the 90's to a sequential set up as well as changing the throttle body? And, if so, as far as a complete engine swap wouldn't the wiring harness (injectors different shape plug, Type F instead of Type C) and ECU need to be changed also?
Just the block and head in the that time frame are interchangeable, but swapping the whole motor could be a pain right?
Feel free to tell me how wrong I am. I gotta learn somehow :flipoff2:

·
Registered
4,320 Posts
I put a 92 22re in my 85, all I did was put my efi intake/TB on the 92 motor and popped it in,not an issue at all, only wish I could have the newer TB! I just swapped all my smog stuff to it also, (it wasnt much).

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Well I think I answered my own question. I just got the engine back in the 4runner. These are the thing I had to do to get it to match the original.

Upper intake manifold from the '85 bolts straight to the '94 lower. The '94 upper didn't have all the right holes drilled for hoses and what not so I had to use the '85.

You're right about the plugs not hooking up on the injectors. In fact, none of the '94 plugs are the same as the '85 so I had to change to the '85 injectors and all the temp guages and all the other plugs had to be switched as well.