Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had a concerning question about my 1998 Dodge Ram 3500 12 valve 5.9 turbo diesel 4x4 manual.

My alternator wasn't working. I tested the battery and it was 11.75v then started the truck and it was still 11.5v. (note battery was low because i got done driving). So I took off the alternator and went to a local auto store and got it tested and resulted as "good" scoring at 15.37 volts.

Dropped it back in, still same scores when engine is off or on. So figured it was the computer. It cost too much well over $300 bucks and these days, we all know money isn't easy to get. So i was recommended to do a exterior voltage regulator from 80's Chrysler. I have never done that before so the guy at the auto store told me how to do it and it seemed simple. He said to connect 1 wire from one of the 2 smaller alternator studs to the regulator and another (hot wire on ignition) to the regulator..... well after blowing like 25 fuses i figured out that he didn't give a good explanation by forgetting to tell me i need to run and split one of the grounds from the 2nd smaller stud on the alternator to the hot wire going into the regulator.

Anyways so my voltage regulator started to work, it scored around 16-17 volts and i figured the battery's was dead and the alternator was charging it by giving a lot of juice. Well i took it on a 40 minute drive, came home and smelled something funny and stinky. I open the hood and saw my MAIN BATTERY smoking and acid inside was cooking... The battery plastic was nice and soft :eek: . I took my volt meter and tested it real quick to see what Ive been running my truck on and it tested 16-17 volts!! :eek::eek: