Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well ive tried to search and realy couldnt find too much info on a np208...well i wanna double it and im wondering what the ideal transfer case to use would be?im running '81 bronco with 35'' boggers 4.88's and a 5speed..

anything helps..Sean

·
Registered
1,316 Posts
I would not encourage you doing this. The NP-208 is a fine T-case but is a bit low on torque capacity. If you have it on the back end of a doubler don't be suprised if it :nuke:

Eric

·
Registered
701 Posts
ya know come to think of it this is a good ?
im goin to do the ord 203 doubler and dont want the 205 behind it .Its goin in a 4dr explorer so what case on the lines of a 208 would work?

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok well not to sound like a complete noob,but what would be the cheapest route to go..new transfer case?with what kind of doubler?...i can get parts damn near free at my old work so what should i look for on what vehicles? i wanna know what the fullsize guys are doing..and i dont have enough cash flows to get an Atlas or something like that..im think of something relatively cheap and easy if you wanna call it that...:rolleyes: ...this is just a hunch i have and im not sure which route to go...

anything helps guys....Sean

·
Ford Forum Moderator
1,999 Posts
I'm running a 203/205 & love it
I don't know the torque capacities of the 208 or the 1356 & whatever other BW cases ford used in the fullsizes are, but they'll bolt up. I know the newer aluminum cases are a bit wider than the 205 is. But it could be done. I just can't say anything is as proven indestructable as the 203/205 combo is. I don't think you could set up anything for the same cost either.

·
Ford Forum Moderator
1,999 Posts
Foolsize, first off, yer mailbox is full :flipoff2:

and to answer yer PM...

203s & 205s can be found in 78-79 Broncos, 77.5-79 F250s, & 74 or 75ish - 79 F150s