Pirate 4x4 banner

What to run?

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
NERD
8,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off, this isn't a joke and I know it's not Tuesday :flipoff2::laughing:

Here's the deal with this red-headed step child of a project: I'm a college student and on a small budget. I can do some fabbing and welding with some of the tools I already have and could buy a couple more to make this happen. I think my 225 Lincoln buzzbox is up to most of the tasks I do so no problem there.

Here's the kicker - I want to keep my 4.0/5speed/231 combo. I just picked up a 231 with SYE for a great price so I want to keep it, plus I just put in a nice front driveshaft I found on CL. So, this means the Toy axle will have to be "retubed". That's where the questions start flowing for me...

I had a Toy mini pickup in high school, 83 with solid axle up front. I've been looking at pictures and trying to figure this out for myself without asking and I'm still not sure - Is it possible to grind down the welds at the pumpkin and pull out the tubes and swap them? From my understanding, I would have to make a jig when welding them up. This is not my DD, so I don't mind learning some new tricks when making this "new" housing.

Couple points I know someone will bring up-

#1 Why not run a "this or that" axle, like the Ford 8.8. True, Ford 8.8 is a good, decently cheap axle. It's strong, and they're plentiful up here. However, gears, lockers, shafts, housings - all that stuff is more expensive and a lot more rare than Toy stuff. Toy 8" rears can take some abuse and I don't plan on going bigger than 35s for some time, which will be 37s after that, so no need to mess around with a 8.8 that I'll have to swap out for a 1 ton later on when I go big. It doesn't matter what I run for the next couple years while I'm in school, I'll go big sticks when I got the cash! I got a HP30 up front I just rebuilt, so that will stay up front if I go with a 8.8.