Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone else has had neg feedback from Drivetrian direct? and why their prices are so high?? Looking for a locker (actually want a EZlocker) and a set of 5.13's for my Dana 44.
First off they want $235 for just the ring and pinion where the next highest price for these gears (same brand) are $150?
Also all the tech guy could do was diss my setup and the parts that I wanted to buy. telling me that I HAVE to run this locker (Full Detroit) and that all the others that I was looking at were crap (EZlocker, Lockrite and Aussie locker).
I'm a Newbie wheeler and even though my truck is pritty built (or will be for next year) there is no way that I'll be able to push my truck for a while, till I'm used to the truck.

Talked to Randy's Ring and Pinion right after and the guy there was super helpful and suggested reasonable solutions for what I wanted, really great service and where I'll buy my driveline parts from.

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
Drivetrain Direct had the best prices (for the stuff that I wanted) out of about ten places that I called. I ordered some US Brand gears for my 8" rear axle and Spicer brand gears for the front Dana 44. I got the US gears for $174, master install kit for $84 (Timken stuff), and Spicer gears with a master install kit for $230. $488 for everything. All of these prices were quoted to me without and haggling except for the Toyota master install which I got them to match Kong's pricing. Good service and supposedly they shipped my stuff the same day.

But......if they are dissing your locker choice then screw them. There are plenty of other vendors. About the lockright, I have had no problems with mine. If you aren't doing aything to crazy with your truck then you should be fine.

·
Registered
2,461 Posts
Don't know anything about Drivetrain direct but I agree the best choice is a full case locker for a dana 44.