Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm completely new to motorcycles, and other than taking notes into a text file while reading articles on stuff I have no personal experience or knowledge of things even yet. I just read the advice of having your first motorcycle be a dirt bike, to get used to low traction riding and to have something designed to be dropped without hurting it until you have a few times since it's going to happen anyways.

Although i'm sort of planning on starting on some small 250cc-ish dual sport that's not the specific advice i'm looking for. :) I'm more curious on what to plan for or expect a little further down the road... you could even say what questions I should be asking in the future for after when I get a year of riding done or so.

I've been told I might even want to keep the 250cc - notably moreso than in the 'street' bike world simply because a light smaller bike can go places a bigger heavier one cant. On a street bike a 'light' one might be 600cc which can weigh barely more than 250cc but I saw it suggested that dual sports can be even lighter at small displacements and one could still have a place to keep to get up and over things even if it lacks range or power.