Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everone, I have a 1975 scout 2 with a 345 v8 and for about 1 month now my engine started making this taping sound from the right valve cover. At first it was just a tapping sound no big deal. Well now it has gotten to the point were I can no longer drive my scout Now when I drive it the tapping gets worse, I have no power and the engine starts to skip. I took it to a shop and they said it was the lifters. I dont have alot of money and I would like to fix this problem myself. Are these lifters adjustable?? I have never done this before so if someone could explain it to me this would really help me out

·
Registered
952 Posts
Im not familiar with whether IH used solid or hydraulic lifters but I would imagine they're hydraulic. You could possibly adjust the tick out of it but if its ticking bad enough that the motor is skipping then the lifter has collapsed or you've run a cam lobe flat. either way, a new cam and lifters is in order in my opinion. You could just replace the collapsed lifter but doing so would cause your cam to wear rapidly if its not already flat.

·
Premium Member
9,603 Posts
They are hydraulic. As a quick check, take off the valve covers and valley pan and look to see if it is all sludged up.Could be that the oil isn't getting back to the oil pan easily.

·
Registered
14,282 Posts
Snoopy said:
Lifter tick is a very common thing...I'm surprised that no one given a link to the BB yet.
www.binderbulletin.org

Happy now? :flipoff2:

For the record though, it's offline right now. :rolleyes: The BB's reliability has really sucked ever since Bill T moved east.

·
Registered
943 Posts
Btdt...

...I took it to a shop and they said it was the lifters. I dont have alot of money and I would like to fix this problem myself. Are these lifters adjustable?? I have never done this before so if someone could explain it to me this would really help me out...