Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Let me preface this with one statement. I am NOT a mechanic.

1978 Jeep CJ5
304 V8
AMC 20 rear axle
Dana 30 Front Axle
3.54 with LSD rear
Dana 20 Transfer Case

MSD 6420 6AL ignition with MSD Blaster 2 8202 Coil and MSD Distributor cap

I bought this Jeep in April. It has spring over axle configuration running 33 x12.5 x 15 tires.

Ran rough (not stock cam shaft) and a little hard to crank. But ran well.

About 6 weeks ago +- I went 15 miles into town from work for lunch.
Ran fine, idled fine at stop lights, etc. Filled up with gas.

Made it all the way back to work. As I pulled into the parking lot, and coasted toward my spot, it just died when I let off the gas. Didn't even try to idle. As soon as I let off the gas pedal, boom dead.

I was unable to crank it. We pulled it off, and it would start, but ran really rough and would die as soon as I let off the gas. I had my uncle tow me home. I drained the tank and filled with fresh known good gas. Same problems.

It had a Jet carburetor of some kind on it. 2BBL. I took the air cleaner off and had the wife crank it while I hit it with ether. It would start only with ether at this point. Ran really rough and would not idle. Had some kind of white smoke/mist come out of the carb when it died.

I did as much research as I could on this symptom, and came to the conclusion that the needle valve was sticking, which was flooding the carb, and continued to put fuel into carb after the engine died, causing the smoke.

I am 46 years old and have never worked on a carburetor. I wasn't about to start now. So, instead of trying to find a rebuild kit on a carb that was hard to identify (no markings or numbers other than "JET" on it) I decided to get a new carburetor.

I discovered Gronk Performance and heard good things. Motorcraft 2100 / 2150 was recommended, and that was what Gronk provided.