Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I finally got around to building the cage for the EB, it is my first attempt at doing any bending. This rig is a daily driver with occasional trail time, so the cage was built for that more than a hard core rig.

It is a full family cage with the front seat mounts built in to the cage. I may still add a spreader or two but I have to get more tube first.

Well here is a pic ( cage pic ) for everyones flaming pleasure.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would normally agree but these were put there for a couple of reasons. The cage was built to allow the sunvisors to stay, the leaf windows to open, and the handles are primarily to help my wife climb in. Because of the visor/leaf window issues you couldn't mount them in the more typical location. This is where they fit the best to accomplish that, you also can't get your hands on them with the doors closed. I set it up that way to discourage the use of them while vehicle is being driven.

I hope to add a dash bar with a passenger handle, just need more tube first. The 2" DOM wasn't cheap and I ordered the minimum that I had to have to start.

·
Registered
1,984 Posts
Nice job on the cage but I agree about the handles. I would have put the velcro handles on. But hind sight is 20/20 and it's your cage so if you like it, then great!!!!

How about some more pics?

-Jack

·
Registered
153 Posts
Hobe said:
Well I finally got around to building the cage for the EB, it is my first attempt at doing any bending. This rig is a daily driver with occasional trail time, so the cage was built for that more than a hard core rig.
Nice job for your first! What type of bender did you use? How much? I'm looking into getting a bender and am curious as to what you used.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #8