Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 752 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, after years of research, planning(dreaming), collecting parts and dragging them across the country with me, I finally started building my truck. This is my first build. I've done a fair amount of fab on sand rails and old trucks growing up, and I can build a car from the ground up, so this is something I decided I could handle. It's taken awhile to get started since I'm active duty Navy.

With that being said, here's the plan. Keep in mind I'm not building an extreme rock rig. This truck will be something I can drive to the trails, wheel all day, then drive home. Throw dirt bikes in it, take it hunting, you get the idea. So the rear 10 bolt is getting swapped out for a 9.5" 14 bolt I pulled from a 92 3/4 ton, transfer case is going to the np241 from a 95, the front axle is a dana 44 from a 78 Bronco that I'm swapping Chevy knuckles onto.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
2 weeks after I bought the truck in 06 I had a Fabtech 6" lift, 3" BL and 37" swamper SSRs. I thought it was awesome at the time, I learned otherwise.

The first time I took it out wheelin. That hill is steeper than it looks.

And.... the result. This was only the first of 4 TREs I've snapped before this last set I sleeved.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Cool shot from a big fishin tournament/camping/concert/muddin event called big bass days back home.

And then the reason for swapping the heavier rear axle in. This was completely my fault, I was making a U turn while stationed in South Carolina, it was a narrow road so I broke the tires loose to whip the rear around. This was the result to the G80 when the swampers got traction again.

So I swapped in an Auburn LS since it was the best I could afford at the time. Then a few months later a lady in an Excursion ran into my right front end resulting in this