Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
FJ62GX is it worth it PLEASE HELP

I can get a 1988 FJ62GX Landcruiser for about $2000.00 (the engines blown but I would rebuild the one in my pickup anyway).
I currently have a 1984 Toyota 4x4 Pickup EX cab, I have it lifted with 4" of leaf and I have 31" swampers (soon to be 33 boggers if I keep it). I need to know if the series I am looking at is even worth the effort to really 4X4 and if it will do any better over my current pickup.
ANY input or advice would be greatly appreciated. I am completely new to the Landcruiser market.
Thanks
Brian

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Kaderabek it is well used and somewhat maintained but I found no rust on it, the drivers door is hard to open due to a small dent in front of it (I can fix that), and it does have a couple of other small dents (I 4x4 I'm not worried about little dents).
The entire under carriage has an oil dust pack on it, the springs are almost flat, etc. . .
It was bought, then used, then sold, then used and it shows. The tranny is new (noticeably, shines in the dirt of the rest under the truck/car). I'm not scared of the rebuild process.
Heck my pickup doesn't even have a dash right now because someone ripped out the lower center section to get my stereo.

Thanks
Brian

·
Registered
4,312 Posts
for 2K + a motor($500-1k) you should be able to find one that has a motor for the same or less, as long as your nmot looking for a mint one.

they are great rigs however, it will wheel fine.

·
Registered
1,594 Posts
great truck, I love mine. Blown motor not worth more than 1K unless perfect. $3500 and i will sell you a much nicer one!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks Landpimp Kaderabek and dd113 for the info. If I did get one should I use the engine its got or should I get another one for it.