Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I got my FJ80 front end today for a total of $680 and change. :) It was in REALLY good condition. The bearings and everything look like they even have fresh grease!

Anyway, my question is about the inner axles. I have heard they are 24 spline. Is anyone having problems with these? I also compared the birfs to the birfs in my current minitruck axle, and these FJ80 ones are HUGE comparativly speaking.

What size tires are people running on these stock axles successfully. I'm a very conservative driver, and light on the throttle, but I do have 39.5's.

Are PIG's inners a HUGE upgrade?

·
Registered
7,084 Posts
Where they go into the diff they are identical to the 40's and 60's which we are breaking, sometimes there but most of the time at the snap ring at the birf...I think the 80's are larger at this section than the others. I have wheeled with 80's, never seen an inner front broke, but if anyone has, it would be Christo .....
Butch

·
Registered
739 Posts
texican said:
Where they go into the diff they are identical to the 40's and 60's which we are breaking, sometimes there but most of the time at the snap ring at the birf...I think the 80's are larger at this section than the others.
Yup, and no snapring or groove either. The axle has a thick section at the ends of the splines that keep it from sliding into the birf.

As for the 24 splines, I dunno. The splines are coarse and the diameter at the splines is 1.25". How does that compare to a 40, 60 or mini-truck?

--Dan

·
Registered
3,032 Posts
the diff end of an 80 inner is 30 spline, same as a mini truck.

and I know the outer splines on the birf (that go into the drive flange) are the same as a mini truck. Guys use FJ80 drive flanges on minis all the time.

But I don't know what the birf end of the FJ80 inner axle is...

Anything PIG sells is a huge improvement IMHO. :D

·
Registered
1,010 Posts