Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I been building a hill billy Deluxe Bumper for my 87JX and fabbing mounting is a bitch with the sammi frame and the damn round tube up front, so I am considering cutting that out totally and putting 2x6 or 3x6 tube there, and mounted so that the bottom of the 6" face will be even with the bottom of the frame rails so that i can mount the bumper higher instead of having it sit too low. If this is making a clear picture for everyone??? that will be WAY easier to mount my bumper and also trussed behind it to the frame on the Sq. tube. ... the new bumper is 6"x2" channel. its my first attempt at making a bumper so play nice fawkers I know its not that great :D

The million dollar question, who has done this? doing it for me will be a since, but, I wanna know if when I chop it out if the rails wil remain paralell or get all outta whack while im fabbin up the new one outta tube ??? will a chunk of 4x4 ratchet strapped in hold it temp.. or what? i dont want the frame rails seperating on me while i work!

if you have done this please show your pics!! also, if you have managed to make bumper mounting stuff for yours while leaving that round tube please post pics!! Im outta ideas. basicly any front frame / bumper mounting pics would be appreciated !!

·
Registered
139 Posts
So are you planning on just welding the bumper or did you want to bolt it on?

On mine I used the stock mounting holes and just cut my 1/4" steel to go around that pole cross member.

·
Premium Member
1,037 Posts
I have cut out that round cross member on a couple of zuks now. Both front and rear ones actually. I say do it as it does make it much easier to work with.