Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did searches and I saw that a guy with a CJ was told to go for 4:10s because it was also a DD, as opposed to 4:56s. Does the same apply to an XJ? I also found and bookmarked that XJ History link. That is a really good link!

·
Registered
7,069 Posts
Kinda depends on, tire size, engine, tranny, axles, driving style, possible tire size in the future, etc. If you have over drive I would go deeper than you originally thought

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Stock 6 cyl. inline engine, stock 4 speed automatic AW4 tranny is what build sheet says, moderate to tough trail riding. Nothing really extreme. We had 4:10s put in it already. We will eventually upgrade to maybe D44s, and 35 or 36 inch tires. We have 33s on now. And we do have overdrive. Is there anything else you need to know, or did I cover it all? I'm a noob and I do appreciate your patience with me. I saw what happens to some, like that metal works guy. WOW! Funny though.:D

·
Premium Member
1,378 Posts
If you upgrade to 36's and D44 front and rear, I would opt for 5.13's. If you stick to 35's I would do 4.88's. The 4.0L like the revs at highway speeds, you get better gas mileage.

The rule of thumb for a 4.0L with auto in a XJ is:

31-32 - 4.10's
33-35 - 4.56's
35-36 - 4.88's
35-37 - 5.13's

The last two really depend upon where in the country you live and what type of wheeling you do.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the rules of thumb with tire size and gears. I did forget to put in my post that the engine is a high output, but y'all probably already had that figured in. I bookmarked this page also for future referance.

·
Registered
772 Posts
I also found and bookmarked that XJ History link. That is a really good link!
Your welcome!