Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my D44 seems kind of loose up front by the hub, when I recently changed the U Joint, it didn't fix it.. (The U Joint did need replacing.) When you take the hub assembly off, and pull the axle shafts out, what's the plastic seal like piece? It seems to hold everything in place so it doesn't wobble around, when I took it out, this thing was bent and cracked..

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to SAS and 4WD.

I'm just looking for the name of the part..

Hope this is somewhat enough info to get a part name, thanks everyone.

·
Registered
396 Posts
the little seal by the yoke keeps crud out of the tubes...or at least it's supposed to...

sure the wobbling isn't the spindle/spindle bearings, inner or outer wheel brearings, or ball joints? With it put together grab the rotor and work it around. see if you can locate what the source is. I also like to work a pry bar around the ball joints to see if they are worn. Clips installed in the hub, the c-clip on the end of the shaft and the big round wire-looking one that fits on the inside lip of the hub. Once your clips are in, the shafts are pretty much not moving in and out regardless of the shape of the shitty "seal" on the inner shaft.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I haven't had a whole lot of time to mess with it, I replaced the U Joints, and that was it. I'm thinking around pay-day, it'll be Ball Joints, U Joints, Bushings, and All Bearing replacement time. Need to go through the whole truck bumper to bumper and figure it all out still.

·
Registered
396 Posts
If you become an International Full-Size Jeep Association (IFSJA.org) member you get discounts from BJ's Offroad. They have kits put together for most of what you'll need for a reasonable price. They also have locations on both coasts so they adjust the shipping to make it cheaper for you.