Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been running h1 wheels for a few years, everytime i take my wheels aprart i usualy have to get a new/used oring from one of my spare wheels cause the old one is stretched out. I have always coated my orings with synthetic royal purple grease before i reasemble. I have started pooching the orings recently durring assymbly. I noticed all the wheels i havnt messed with have dry orings when i take them apart. All my wheels are straight from surplus so no civilians have messed with them. I think the grease is softening up my orings and causing them to loose their tension. Even though billavistas tech article says buna is ok for oil and grease i am putting everything together dry now with my latest set of tires and so far no leakers. One other thing, i find alot of my surplus humvees use 100% permatex in place of the oring. I dont know if it worked well or not for the military guys but i know of 5 wheels that had no oring and all blue permatex, not the transparent stuff but the light blue pasty looking gunk. Now my question....according to tech, the mill. spec orings are .27?" in diameter. Has anyone made orings from 1/4" stock and had success? I have a bunch of 1/4" bulk oring material and would like to just make up new ones with this stuff and some loctite 404 to complete the circle. The nice thing about the 404 is that when you make an oring with it the oring will actualy break anywhere but the joint if assymbled properly.

·
Premium Member
3,444 Posts
I've been running mine dry for 4 years and have only replaced them one time. I only needed to replace one becaused it was severely pinched during installation, but I decided to replace all 5 just because. I know at least 3 other guys who run them dry and have at least as much time on them as I do.

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter #4