Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend bought a front wheel drive 5.3 and wants some help getting it to bolt up to his TH350......

What am I getting myself into? Is this even possible?

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I get it. Let's talk about it, but not tell me wtf you are talking about. Thanks for the help, much appreciated. :rolleyes:

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
4,161 Posts
I was under the impression that engines like the LS4 were not equipped with the provision to mount a starter to the block.

It is probably not impossible to overcome, but there is a reason why those engines are not desirable.

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
What does a stripped out 5.3 cost from someone like LKQ...$400? They made about 8 zillion of them. Probably cheaper to just get the correct motor rather than adapt what you've got. I am no expert in the matter, just know they are abundant.

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
What does a stripped out 5.3 cost from someone like LKQ...$400? They made about 8 zillion of them. Probably cheaper to just get the correct motor rather than adapt what you've got. I am no expert in the matter, just know they are abundant.
Agreed. However, I'm helping out a friend. Maybe my help needs to be insisting that he part with this engine and get a different one. Sometimes a good deal overpowers good logic.

·
Registered
5,188 Posts
Its the 60* pattern and has not provision for a starter on the block. One could make a adapter plate and possibly mount a starter on it different from the one linked.

Google picture

If you ran a 60* 700r4 you would need to mount the TV cable on the DBW pedal it self so that's the easiest option. But still need to fab a starter mount.

Then the front drive is different as well the snout of the front of the crank is shorter. I have heard or people running a truck balance on it with no problems though.

·
Registered