Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting ready to buy a plasma cutter, wondering how much a pilot arc style is worth to a newbie. I am a half-assed MIG welder but never used a plasma.

Main use would be to cut clean material, probably 1/4" max for most of it. Would like to be able to drag the torch along a guide or straightedge and preferably use a tip or standoff that allows contact with the material w/o eating up the consumables any more than necessary.

The other use would be to clean up old crap like cutting off spring perches, body mounts, etc. from rusty/dirty parts. Seems like a lot of prep might be necessary w/o the pilot arc feature.

The pilot arc feature seems to add quite a few bucks, thus the question.

Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
164 Posts
I think pilot arc is a necessary feature. Difficult to cut expanded or screen without it. It's not the pilot arc feature on the machines that make them cost more, it's that the better machines offer it standard. As for being able to drag the torch tip and not thrash the consumables the better machines offer that as a stock feature. Consumable cost is another consideration. You might save a few hundred on a lower end model but over the life of the tool you are likely to spend more than that on electrodes and tips.

·
Registered
2,066 Posts
That is a hard question I have never used a plasma that didn`t pilot arc.

This is something you don`t want to cheap out on.

Most name brand plasmas can use drag cut consumables the downside being if you lift the torch to high you will lose the cut.

Moisture in the air supply is the hardest thing on consumables

·
Registered
4,327 Posts