Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks to anyone that reads this. I am very new to joining this site. I have pulled forums up on this site for years to see how guys were doing similar builds, but just now joined. My question is, does anyone know how to build anti-roll bars like on monster trucks? I know you can buy cookie cutter ones but has anyone built there own. A friend of mine has a torchmate machine so I can make the arms, but I tried finding a machine shop around me to cut inside and outside splines and they don't want anything to do with it. I have a truck with front and rear steer rockwells and have airbagged it for the street but need/have to build sway bars. Any help would be appreciated and again thanks for your time.

·
Registered
2,662 Posts
Also, what's your setup? The rear swaybar from a fullsize ford bronco is pretty universal and can probably be made to work with your application.

·
Registered
613 Posts
If you want swaybars that actually work for what you are trying to do checkout Speedway engineering.

I bought their steel arms, poly bushings, rod ends, and solid 1 1/8 bars at the length that I needed. I installed them and ran the truck to find out how much softer I wanted it. I then turned the bars down in a lathe an 1/8 inch at a time until I reached the desired stiffness. I would recomend this exact formula to accomplish the perfect amount of anti roll. I think I spent like $350 on everything. I first started doing my swaybars this way in 2004 and continue to do it this way on each biuld that I do.

·
Registered
4,975 Posts
If you want swaybars that actually work for what you are trying to do checkout Speedway engineering.