Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got these wheels a few years back and they were in rough shape then getting worse and worse as daily drivers. I'm looking to either find a new set and upsize from the 16" they are now to 18" or if there's a way to get all this crud out, I've tried everything I c
Tire Wheel Automotive tire Vehicle Tread

an think of...

· Registered
1,023 Posts
Total newb is 💯 correct, I have 2 sets, I bought neither. The easiest best way to clean those up and get rid of the rust is get a pack of sos pads that you’d use for cleaning pots and pans or your bbq. Get the ones with soap in them or you can use steel whoop with dawn dish soap. It’ll get rid of the rust and shine em up. Those were made by us wheel, ultra and a few other manufacturers.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Total newb is 💯 correct, I have 2 sets, I bought neither. The easiest best way to clean those up and get rid of the rust is get a pack of sos pads that you’d use for cleaning pots and pans or your bbq. Get the ones with soap in them or you can use steel whoop with dawn dish soap. It’ll get rid of the rust and shine em up. Those were made by us wheel, ultra and a few other manufacturers.
Thank you for giving me some tips on cleaning them.. i got them for next to free with a good set of bfg goodrich ko2's years ago. I was convinced they were part of the outlaw wheel lineup they look shockingly similar to outlaw 2 wheels but not 100%.. ( OUTLAW II )

· Rolling Mod
04 Wrangler Unlimited, 67 F100
45,040 Posts
They're polished aluminum... there isn't any chrome on them..
That is a cheap steel wheel. Ford had some OE that look similar but I don’t think they have the rivets. Tons of crappy aftermarket companies made them in the 80s.

They are 100% not aluminum. Go stick a magnet to one.

· blatant asshole
14,425 Posts
Alum dont brown rust.
Uless thats dirt.