Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I need a welder as i only have small two 110 lincoln welders that are just good for small junk (procore 100, 115-it was free). Okay so i need a big one to weld big junk like 3/16, 1/4" and so on...
I went to the local welding supply shop and they are running a sale on all the welders at the moment. I am considering the Miller 180 and the Miller 212. But am leaning to the 180...

They have the 180 at $780 and the 212 at $1500. I am a beginner welder as i barely know what im doing. I mean i have made some crap like driveshafts and stuff with my little lincoln 100 that have held up fine. But i need to make some brackets and all kind of stuff for my jeep and want a big welder. Any input???

·
Addicted to Gear Oil
9,947 Posts
search dood. :flipoff2:

Eleventy billion threads on "what welder should I buy"

I also wanted a Miller 212, but didn't have the $$$$$.

Suggested alternatives:

Refurbed Hobart 187 from toolking $519
Hobart Handler 210 $850 cyberweld.com

I ended up with the HH210. Very happy. Small and powerful. Duty cycle is lower than the Miller, but it's not like I am welding 8 hours a day with it.

·
Registered
4,486 Posts
Get the 180. I know guys who were talked into spending the bucks on a 212 or better and never run it past anything the 180 can do. If you're doing mostly stuff 1/4" and under, you'll be good to go. And the very few times you need to go thicker it's no problem with a bevel and multi-pass.

We've got a 180 (actually a Miller Challenger 172) that's been in heavy daily use for a good 5-6 years with zero problems.

·
Registered
298 Posts