Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to pirate, I respect the vast amount of technical knowledge. I have experience fabricating and machining, but I still view myself as an amateur, which leads me to my question.

I have a 1st gen xtra cab Tacoma that has slowly been making the transition from DD/camping vehicle to crawler rig. I just jumped on a 99 f350 d60 for $400 because I plan on SAS and that price was unbelievable so I couldn't pass it up. I definitely plan on building a 3-link setup with crossover steering. I plan on fabricating all of my links and mounts because aside from my own garage shop with plenty of metal fab tools I have access to a machine shop with different cncs, mills, and lathes.

As I begin rebuilding the d60 I'm trying to plan for crossover steering and through research realized that a lot of guys ship their PS knuckle to a machine shop to get a crossover arm mount machined flat in the top of the knuckle. So at the end of this long story, I'm wondering if any of you guys have experience/know anyone who has machined a knuckle for a crossover arm. Is this practical to do it myself? If so, what should I consider in planning? I figured I'd at least machine my own crossover arm, but all in all how practical is it to machine the knuckle?

·
Registered
39 Posts
I'm new to pirate, I respect the vast amount of technical knowledge. I have experience fabricating and machining, but I still view myself as an amateur, which leads me to my question.