Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys, I need some ideas and advice. I am from a sportscar racing background, and have only a small amount of offroading experience in mostly stock or mildly modified trucks. I am an engineer though, and always build everything myself.

So here is what I am trying to do.

Build an off-road desert/dirt racer on a budget with most of the parts fabricated myself. I have built multiple chassis and suspensions for on-road vehicles, but I will be learning the tricks for off-roading as I go. It will be a 4x4, with a decent amount of power and suspension travel, and a 2 seater. I will design and build the entire frame myself.

So to the questions..

#1 - Donor truck options - I would like to harvest most of my driveline from one vehichle, this will be the most budget friendly route and easiest on fab time. Right now I am leaning towards a 95 Chevy Z-71, I found a cheap one with the 350 and auto that does not look to be abused. Any ideas or suggestions?

#2 - Suspension components - Fabricating the suspension arms will not be an issue, I have done that many times before. But what suspension systems should I look to for components and inspiration? Such as what would be good "junkyard" components for knuckles, power steering and such.

Most of my other questions will be based off of the ideas I get from these.

Thanks,
Casey

Oh, and in advance,
I realize this is not an easy task.
It will not be a cheap task even though I am trying the budget route.
And I could probably buy a decently modded truck for half or a quarter of what I will put into this.
But this is for enjoyment, and something I look forward to doing and learning from.

·
Registered
26 Posts