Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to all this, but getting into it very quicklywith my 91 pickup, Basically my problems are that I just got the truck about three months - four months ago, and want some advice for when I go home for spring break. I am Cheap ass college kid that is on the trails all the time (Mostly mud, and swamp type terrain) I have the infamous IFS and have not had too much of a problem with it at all, and actually want to know if it is worth it to switch to the solid front? I want tires no bigger then 35's thinking 33's is all I need, So basically I will need some sort of lift and gears which is not a problem, but is it really worth it to take the time and money to get rid of the IFS when I am most likely on the road, and not running any massive size tires?

One other thing on the side also... I currently have 31in tires, and have problems staying keeping the car above 70mph in fifth. Is this the 22re or do I basically just need a gear change. Thanks for helping--

:beer: :beer:

·
Registered
303 Posts
Basic Advise

91 Yota
- Basically it depends on what you want and where you are. If you just want to fit 33's, a body lift may cover you and save you a lot of head ache and wallet pains. If you plan on doing 35's, don't. To do it right, you need to swap in a solid front. If you're going to keep this truck for a long time, it may be worth doing it right once. I'd say either do as little as possible as you can be happy with now, or go all out and do it right the first time.