Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to the site, but I'm glad to be here. I have a quick question. I am thinking of getting a rebuild kit for my 85 K5 Blazer, but I can't decide whether the knock i'm getting from my engine is worth the effort. It doesn't seem to knock when it first starts up, but as it gets warmer, it gets louder. By loud, I don't mean extremely loud, but loud enough to where you know it's there. My engine doesn't run any different since it started knocking, I can still fully accelerate and I don't seem to notice a loss of power...it just knocks. Any suggestions as to the type of knock that could be categorized? Thanks!

·
Registered
173 Posts
I had a similar knock on my toyota a few years ago. It turned out to be spun rod bearing that eventually crapped on me and i threw a rod.

I have heard lifters that start to go and knock like you describe.

The reason for the knock after it warms up is more then likely your oil starting to thin out as the oil temperature starts to increase. If you run a tad thicker viscosity oil it might save the engine for a little bit longer from completely crappin on you

·
Registered
15 Posts
I've seen plenty of 305's with cam bearing knocks. The best thing to do if you have a 305 is to throw it over the hill and let it rot. Swap in a 350. Here's a good way of locating the knock. Take a really long screwdriver or a plastic handled prybar and put the end on various places on the engine, and put your ear right against the handle. It works like a stethoscope.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dr. Donkey Punch said: