Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
HARDliner
2,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, I am totally new to the whole "expedition" type Rig setup. I have been only a trail/rock crawler up to this point. Let me give you a little background info first. I have owned my 1977 FJ40 since 1999 and spent a lot of time and money making it more trail worthy. I got to a point that I was either going to have to cut up the body and gut the suspension to make it do what I wanted...or build a full tube buggy that was a dedicated crawler. I ended up building the tube buggy. I have too much attachment to sell my FJ, so I am thinking about repurposing it.

I realize fully that it is not the ideal vehicle for an expedition. I don't need a full expedition Rig built for the outback. I just want to know from you guys what I might need or be able to do that would get me a better weekend camper with the kids. In addition to possible mods, I'm also looking for products in the expedition world that might translate to a better multi-destination backcountry vehicle. Thoughts?

We would want to drive to multiple destinations and be self sufficient along the way for maybe 3 or 4 days. Thoughts?

Note: Here are my Rig specs...

1977 FJ40
4.56 gears
Aussie lockers Fr/Rr
Rear axles / Poly Perf cro mo
Front axles / Longfield cro mo
Spyder Lock 17" beadlock wheels
Currently running 37x12.5x17 BFG KM2 tires w/ full sized spare
BTF Kryptonite rear diff cover
TG front diff guard
TG 6 Shooter knuckles
TG forged high steer arms
PSC power steering w/ 1.5" ram assist
1.5" DOM tie rod and drag link w/ 3/4" QA1 cro mo heims
Toyota I-6 power bored .60 over / domed pistons
Non USA Toyota carb
MAF header
Dual Optima red top batteries
Warn 8274 winch w/ 100' of syn Xline
Body and frame have been powdercoated then interior Linexed
4" Downey leaf springs
MAF 3" extended anti-inversion shackles
Bud Built 3/16" plate full rear body guards
Iron Pig 1/4" skid
1/4" wall tube for Fr/Rr driveshafts
Sm465 trans