Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought an 85 4runner that the guy had put a superlift 3in. plus NWOR 2in. shackle suspension on. It lacks articulation obviously. I did some research and the previous owner shot me some pics from the company that he bought the suspension from. The pictures they showed him (and the reason he bought it) was an 82 pickup. On the ramp the front wheels drop/extend nicely. As I examined the picture, I noticed they simply don't have any shocks mounted up front. So I am thinking it is partly a shock travel issue. I am planning a tellico trip, and I was wondering if once I got there if it would be ok to dislocate the shocks while on the trail for the addeded articulation. Yes, I am a newbie, so please go easy on me if this is totally idiotic! Thanks! Danny

·
Registered
3,491 Posts
Do a search on front shocks and Ford shock mounts and read away. It is too easy to put longer shocks on. running without them is not only really uncomfortable, but can break stuff when the front end starts to bounce. Especially with the type of terrain a Tellico that requires some wheel speed.

·
Registered
103 Posts
no, you can't. i was testing out my new solid axle swap with out front shocks and got too much front end bounce rolling off a CURB. if you're going to be doing any sort of wheeling, you're definitely going to need front shocks or else you might break shit plus not have nearly as much control when you're trying to place your front end and keep bouncing around.

·
Registered
112 Posts