Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am planning on installing the AP hysteer and running their 3" springs with extended shackles (1 1/2" over stock). My concern, given I am fairly new to this game, is how well a spring like AP's is going to handle on the street? While I do a fair bit of offroading, I also use this rig for hunting and do some fairly long trips. As a result, I am trying to figure out what to expect in terms of handling. Also are there things (i.e. as running a relatively stiff shock) that will help compensate for running a soft spring on the highway? Thanks for answering my rather gay newbie question.

My rig is an '85 4runner, 33x12.5x15 (likely going to 35's), weight distribution is roughly 2,150 lbs. per axle.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Any key word recommendations? I have spent 3-months researching this, reading every pertinent post I can find on springs. As you can see by my post count, I don't tend to have a lot of questions searching the archives cannot answer. This is one I have seen just about nothing on during my time checking out spring info on this board. There is tons of info on how various springs perform on trail, but not alot about how they do getting to and from (or at least not that I found).

·
Registered
12,996 Posts
My SAS Toyota has had a pair of AllPros up front for the last 10,000+ miles. I run 36" TSLs.

There are a few things that will help make it handle infintiely better.

1. Sway bar. Period. Find a way to run a sway bar up front. It will improve your handling 10 times over. Just disconnect it for the trail.
2. Tires. Run MT/Rs if you are worried enough about road ride to start a post on it. TSL, TSL/SX, Claws, etc. if you can take the punishment on the road in return for greater off road performance.