1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

·
Registered
4,580 Posts
Even the cheap sets are fine if you use 'em in a drill press or mill. People trash them trying to use them in hand drills.

I've got a cheap 8pc set from Northern I've been using for 5 years now.

I personally wouldn't drop that much dough on an 8pc set. I'd rather get an import set of 1/2 thru 1" in 64ths. These are VERY handy to have, and can be had for about the same coin, maybe $100 more.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
LOL those import ones from e-bay are SHIT!! :shaking: anyone who buys them is going to be pissed. I made maybe 3 holes with my 7/8ths with my drill press running at 180 RPM drilling 1" plate and they where jacked they SUCK!!! These norseman's come in a set 1/2 INCH 9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4, 13/16, 7/8, 15/16 & 1 Inch made of Hi-Molubdenum tools steel. There isn't even a argument here seriously.... spend 50-100 bucks on crap or just buy the good shit that will last 1000x longer for 200 bucks... It's a no brainer! I only posted this topic to give any future buyers a heads up do what you will. If you have a nice drill press and want a NICE set of bits for a good price I don't think you will find better for the price. Fastenal wanted around $40 bucks PER BIT for the norseman knock-off's made in China or a set for $189 DUH :homer::laughing:

·
Registered
3,050 Posts
wtf is Hi-Molubdenum? HSS? cobalt? tin coated? what makes the Hi-Molubdenum ones $100 more than the other ones on there site.
to tell you the truth usualy you dont need the usual fraction sizes. what you going to do with a 1in hole? your not going to fit a 1in bolt through it very well.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
wtf is Hi-Molubdenum? HSS? cobalt? tin coated? what makes the Hi-Molubdenum ones $100 more than the other ones on there site.