Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
758 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK. Let's talk some HEAVY material property crap and understand why some specific materials have been chosen over others.

I have begun to immerse myself in book knowledge of materials. I will admit up front I have very little (if any) working experience with any of the high strength steels and super alloys out there. But the more I read, the more questions I seem to bring up.

Here are the materials I am interested in discussing:

300m
Aermet100
AF1410
Titanium

While surfing through my Metals Handbook, I came accross an interesting set of tables that compares some ultra-high strength steels. (I am at home right now, but will post a picture of it in the morning tomorrow).

These tables show that AerMet100 and AF1410 have more than twice the fracture toughness of 300m and is described as being superior in fatigue failure when compared to the other steels. The book makes it sound like it is superior in fatigue by having a high resistance to fracture propagation.

It DOES show that the yield strength of AerMet100 is 250ksi (ultimate is 285 ksi), while 300m is 340 ksi for yield (and 180ksi ultimate). But it would "appear" that AerMet100 and AF1410 has a better fatigue failure resistance than 300m.

The AF1410 is described (by the book) as a steel replacement for titanium and was recently developed by the Airforce. Here is a quote: "This combination of strength and toughness exceeds that of other commercially available steels, and the alloy has been considered as a replacement for titanium in certain aircraft parts."

Other than cost, why would titanium NOT be a good choice for axles and ujoints?

I have a feeling this is going to come down to cost and availability. But AF1410 was developed for submarine hull steels, so it should be pretty readily available in large chunks. It also says it is available in rod (for axle applications).

Are there any thoughts or comments?