Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,278 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What would be the minimum vehicle requirements in order to have a good time on the Con? My TJ wouldn't be too well suited for the entire family and camping, so am of building something more mild for the family to enjoy a place like this, or Moab. Wondering is something like an XJ/ZJ/4 runner (obviously SAS if needed) locked on 35-37's or so could have a good time on the Con?

·
Registered
67 Posts
Rubicon gets a lot of hype but its a fairly easy trail with bypasses for the harder lines. A rear locker ,33s, and a half skilled driver can get you through without much of a hiccup. However if you want to try the harder lines such as soup bowl lockers,sliders,35s, and gearing helps. But you dont need a rock slayer to run the trail. I see stock jeeps and bigger tired tacomas up there all the time doing just fine. I would just go with what total newb said.

·
Registered
2,417 Posts
Rubicon gets a lot of hype but its a fairly easy trail with bypasses for the harder lines. A rear locker ,33s, and a half skilled driver can get you through without much of a hiccup. However if you want to try the harder lines such as soup bowl lockers,sliders,35s, and gearing helps. But you dont need a rock slayer to run the trail. I see stock jeeps and bigger tired tacomas up there all the time doing just fine. I would just go with what total newb said.

And being totally honest,,, ^^^ this

·
Premium Member
19,797 Posts
And being totally honest,,, ^^^ this
Agree, 33's and rock sliders will take you through the trail, adding in 1 locker makes it a little less stressful.

·
Premium Member
1,278 Posts
Discussion Starter #9