·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Before anyone asks why I’m building a frame- I wanted a 20ga tank and the 05ish wrangler tanks are 34” wide so I decided I’d prob have the same amount of time in a new one. The tank uses the same pump/sending unit as the hemi equipped stuff, so no messing with the fuel pressure or using an external pump. My background is def rock crawling, but this will be a DD truck.

·
Premium Member
7,180 Posts
Thanks for sharing the pics and nice welding. I feel stupid for asking but I can't see where that lapped joint is in the larger pictures? And Im curious as to why you used a lap joint rather than mitering? How many hours do you figure you have into the frame in the latest pictures? What thickness is the tubing?

·
Premium Member
8,778 Posts
Looks good.

Not sure what wheelbase you are looking at...but I would think about stretching it a bit. Those short links, with short wheelbase, and with the power, will be interesting.

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Looks good.

Not sure what wheelbase you are looking at...but I would think about stretching it a bit. Those short links, with short wheelbase, and with the power, will be interesting.
I was thinking the same. The front is stretched 2” as of now and I’m gonna see where that lands me. The rear lowers are 39” and rear uppers 31” I believe. The frame is pretty wide and the uppers triangulated pretty far, so kinda looks worse than it is. I’m def leaving room for adjustment. My end game is going to be driving it almost daily and using it to pull my next buggy build.

·
Premium Member
1,916 Posts
If you can keep it low and the lowers flat it should be fine.

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
If you can keep it low and the lowers flat it should be fine.