Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 250A Miller transformer stick box. Works as good as anything I've ever welded with, which is limited to other transformer based stick boxes. I'm a pretty good stick welder.

I've never really welded MIG. My steel isn't usually that clean and I often weld with the shop door open or I have a fan running. I weld a lot of 1/4, 5/16" and 3/8" steel using 7014 and 7018 rods.

I need to weld thin steel and aluminum. I've always wanted a plasma cutter. Some day I hope to put together a CNC plasma table.

I've ordered an Everlast Power Pro 256. http://www.everlastgenerators.com/PowerPro-256-3909-pd.html. It wont be shipped for a couple weeks.

I really like the concept of these machines, but I am worried that the PP256 and others like them aren't really a HD machine.

For one thing, although the PP256 has a CNC port, its not really recommend you use it as such. Further on this line of thought, the PP256 plasma cutter is less powerful and robust than the stand alone Everlast 60A plasma.

Another thing that bothers me is the duty cycle. The PP256 has a 35% duty cycle at 250A for stick and 35% at 200A for TIG. The Everlast PowerTIG 250EX has a duty cycle of 60% for both.

It seems to me that the multi function aspect of the PP256 and machines like it really cut into its robustness and that stand alone boxes would be a better investment ?

Then there is the Longevity line, which seems to mostly have better specs as far as duty cycles and capabilities go and seems to give a bit more performance, dollar for dollar ?

I've looked at Lincoln and Miller products, new and used. I want an inverter based box and they are out of my price range with these brands. I also don't buy the "you get what you pay" line all the time.

I'm hoping these off shore inverter multi function welders are a breakthrough in the welding arena. Am I wrong ?