Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8,781 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My eyes have been opened!(update, tried it)

Attended my first IDPA match this evening, just as a spectator, and just have to day DAMN.

I thought I could shoot, but now know just how much of a FNG I really am after watching them run stages. I've been punching holes in paper off and on for about 20 years now but have never combined moving, using cover, speed, and accuracy like IDPA requires. Even the military practicle pistol course I have to run from time to time does not come close. I have a lot of work to do, but I cant wait for next week to give it a shot and see what happens.

I was really impressed with how universal it was, men/women, young/old, black/white, fat/skinny, tattooed rockers/buisnessmen, it was a huge cross section of the populace all getting along having a good time and making me feel like a bumbling idiot.

A big thanks to TnToy for inviting me and a buddy from my unit to spectate, participate, and opening our eyes to a whole nother level of shooting. I learned a lot watching, identified too many areas that I need work on, and am afraid I've been bitten by the bug. Hell, I even purchased my first holster today, my wife is cringing thinking about what another hobby is going to do to our checking account.:laughing:

·
Registered
8,781 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd need to get a shotgun to even contemplate 3 gun. Wanna see a woman go bezerk? Wait till I tell the wifey I want to buy another boom stick. At this point, I think she would go through the roof since I've dumped a couple grand into firearms, ammo, accessories, etc in the last year. I'm lucky I can sneak a box of ammo per week past her accounting magnifying glass.

Baby steps, first I have to get one gun running at some kind of comp level, then maybe I can branch out a bit. Meanwhile the project heep sits languishing in the driveway untouched like it has been for the last couple years.