Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 139 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This project started like many, a worn out $500 YJ. As usual after the first "build" and season of wheeling the rig took on a life of it's own. The first go around, RE 4.5" leaf kit, Pro Comp 35" xmt, Superwinch Epi9.0, d30 alloy usa/ARB, etc. The 4banger was shot, the frame rotted, and I hated hitting everything with the front shackles. Sent the old setup out with a bang.

Attachments

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The next step was a new frame, engine, tranny, tcase, and front suspension. I'm a big Ford guy, so the engine of choice was easy Mustang 5.0. Tranny is an np435 mated to a JB Convertions 231hd. An explorer 8.8 with an ARB for the rear. I really didn't know much about suspension geometry etc. at this point so a prefab kit was the solution. I went with a Rock Krawler 3 link coilover kit. Since I'm an electrician by trade and a fabricator in my dreams, my buddy Kenny does all the welding for me. Here's some of his handy work.

Attachments

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
The front kit was a little taller than anticipated, both for the 35's and for the rear lift. Made a swap to 37" pitbull rockers and swapped in a set of 5" BDS leafs.

Attachments

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #4