Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I've been out light trail and mud sloshing in some friend's rigs. Thinking I might like to get something myself. BUT, I'm not a mechanic. Can't do my own axel swap, but do understand gear ratios, lockers and such.

So how often do your rigs break on the trail, and do I NEED to be able to do trail repairs myself in order to do much off roading? I'm now in N cali.

Thanks much!

·
Registered
15 Posts
experience is the best teacher, right? The best resource would be to wheel with someone who already has experience with trail mishaps.

maybe you should invest in a service manual from the local parts store. it could help ya in a jam also..

·
Registered
17,628 Posts
You will learn, and I ALWAYS carry a haynes manual with me, in case something does happen. Ive had my share of trail breakage, but I always wheel with people, so it works out nicely.
Scott

·
Registered
825 Posts
You do not need ot be a mechanic to do anything.

All you need to do is be willing ot learn and ask for help. Hook up with a local 4wd club, there will be people there more then willing ot teach you and help you out.

I have a friend who 5-6 years ago wa snot really into cars or 4x4s and he has now built hisown rig from scratch and sets up his own gears.

Use local clubs and the internet to learn what you need.

·
Registered
4,072 Posts
when I bought my first Cruiser in 1989 I'd never even changed my own oil. Now I've pretty much rebuilt everything in my rig from scratch, and all myself.

necessity is the master of invention....

·
Registered
407 Posts