Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok folks. I know I'm a newb here and I have a newb question, but I do own a 92 Cherokee and I am having a problem with my 242 t-case. So forgive me if this question isn't quite up to hardcore standards.

So..I am trying to understand how the 242 t-case shifts into 4wd when you pull the lever into part time. My 242 takes quite while to go into and get back out of 4wd. I can pull the lever into 4wd part time easily, but it takes a good while for the 4wd indicator light to light up. When going from 4wd P/T back into 2wd, the light will flicker and flash for a good while (like for 10 miles) before it finally gives up 4wd, grudgingly.

What is going on here. I made a mistake and bought 2 new tires for the back and I know the fronts are worn out causing 2 different tire diameters to be on the truck. SO I guess my question is..why do you need to be running the same tire diameter and why does everything have to be spinning at the same speed for the 4wd to engage? There is no CAD on the 92+ Jeeps so everything up front is spinning all the time, I know. So why won't my 4wd engage even though I am running 2 different diameter tires?

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,904 Posts