Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure if this has been talked about here or not. If it has just say some thing and I will delete this.

This is stemming from what I saw and read here: http://www.paragonap.com/yabbse/index.php?board=8;action=display;threadid=1441

Now I want some feed back on this. I was driving in to work to day thinking about everyone that wheels and what we drive and how we lift them. I was also thinking about the new people that come in to this sport and ask "hay what should I do first" and we all say LIFT IT!!! or PUT BIGGER AXLES UNDER IT!!! Well how about we start saying PUT IN A FULL CAGE TYIED IN TO THE FRAME!!
Now I know I am just as guilty as the rest for lifting your truck first and the last thing we all do (because we can't afford it) is to put in a full cage. Hell I have been wheeling for the last 5 or 6 years and just put mine in at the end of last summer! I have seen to may people with big rigs and no fill cage. I have also seen (me just as guilty) people out on some of the hardest trails in the park with stock cages.
So my question is what should your fitst mod be? Looking back I would say if you are going to be in this sport for the long haul I sould put in a tight full cage that can take a good hard roll!!! I have seen some flops where the stock cage and wind shield fram held up but have also seen light rolls wher the wind shield has crumpled like tin.
Just some thing to think about.

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
My first real upgrade was to a 6 point cage. I ran around for 1.5 years with a 6 point cage and 31" AT tires :D - didn't wheel for shiizzo but I knew I was safe when it I was hitting it hard.

I would never have considered half of my future upgrades without first having done some basic saftey upgrades.

Get the CAGE!!! Then add the rest of the crap.

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sloan_3_24_74 said: