Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First - Sorry for old subject. I did do searches on this subject as best I could, but still am needing help from wiser ones than me. Total newbie on this issue.

I currently have a 77 FJ40 w/strong 2F, stock 4spd & trnsfr & diffs. Everything else stock as well except for SUA 4" Alcans & +2" shackles & ARB's. Running 35/1250/15 MTR's.

I am anticipating switching to on-hand Aussie 4spd. Looking at either a AA Rock Box or Marlin Toy box to enhance. Don't really want to give up stock R&P's. Like to rock crawl, but like DD aspect too (although not a DD, still like stock performance)

Already planning 1" body lift. Realize need new drive shafts. Know about AA box install in pieces & Toy Box is 1 piece w/new main shaft. Know about difference in ratio options (would like either 3+ for AA or 4+ for TB).

Saw some mention of needing to flip rear springs; is it necessary?; if so, what's entailed?. Any other advice on changes affected? Any pro/con input for both boxes would be helpful.

·
Premium Member
3,189 Posts
I run the AA rockbox in mine. I chose to go that way because it was shorter than the toybox and it was cheaper to get lower gears. You do not need to flip the springs, thats your choice, I did not. My cruiser is soa with 37" inch MT/R's and I still have a 23" driveshaft. Different motor and tranny though. Yeah the rockbox has to be put on in 2 peices but it is not hard, don't let that be a determining factor in you choice.

·
Chubby Chaser
26,105 Posts
For me the driveline length was not an issue, I'm stretched out to 108". I got a smokin deal on the Toybox, so that's what I'm running.

I have nothing but good things to say about it;)

·
Premium Member
5,906 Posts
I vote Toybox, but then again I am not unbiased :D

Look at all the options

price
ratios
quality
installation

then make a choice, it sounds like you already have all the info. :beer:

·
Chubby Chaser
26,105 Posts