Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(Little long)
Bought a 84 yota xtra cab a while ago already somewhat built. 4" susp lift 3" body. 15x12 rims with 35x15.5 M/T baja claws. and a one piece rear driveshaft. Paid $800 for it. not bad since this thing has pulled some pretty big rigs out of the mud. (bronco and jeep) Yeah I bought it to play in the mud with.
Well brought it out the other day and blew the front seal on the motor.
Well a guy I was with just happens to have a fresh 355 in his garage and a couple th-350's. One is the long tail shaft and the other a short tail shaft with a cracked bellhousing. No big deal we can gut the one and put the other tail shaft on it. Cool.
Well I am very new to the yota and didn't really start researching it till now.

I have a few questions for you guys.

1. Where is the cheapest place for the motor mounts?
2. Am I going to be able to use the stock t-case since I guess it is a front mounted shifter? Or am I going to need a different one?
3. How can I mount the tranny crossmember up or do I need a new piece?
4. What kind of shifter do I need if I can just pull the plate off the top of the t-case and stick a new one in there?
5. what size convertor am I going to need?

I think that is all for now unless you guys know of more issues. I think I already have the radiator/tranny cooler figured out. Already have block huggers for it. All accessories are coming with the motor also.

Thanks
Nick

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
front seal is easy to fix dont even need to remove timing cover, just pull radiator,fan, fan clutch, main pully, damper, oil pump. get new seal, install on oil pump, or get new oil pump fairly cheap. make sure damper is in good condition install sleeve if nessesary, and go. id do this and drive around untill you compile all parts for v8 swap . can easily be done in half a day. you said the truck does well right now anyway, id do the cheap thing.

·
Registered
465 Posts