Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 127 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I'm a new member here and this is my first post. This is a great site with great people and your all appreciated. -yes I posted on the Newb intro :p

I just wanted to drop my specs on my 22re rebuild and gather some opinions. Let me qualify my part choices by stating that I am no mechanic and this is the first motor that I've ever built. (Hella fun though)

Ok... the facts. Ive got a 1992 22re 4x4 5spd DLX that only made it 139k. There are probably many reasons why this little truck never made it past 200k but the short of it is that I left it in the hands of some people whos idea of maintanance was to put 92 octane in the tank as opposed to 89. They put 50k on that motor without any TLC (I was out of the country). So...when the motor went I figured I'd start anew.

The truck was down for a couple years while I gathered my parts and just finished up on the motor, took about two months for me to build it. Like I said, I'm no mechanic....but my brother is :D so when I elected to do this, I persuaded him to do more teaching than doing (if I left it there for any length of time I would return to find a shiney completed motor under the hood...that doesnt do much for my learning curve). So with slow and educational steps, the right tools, garage and copious amounts of beer, I finally completed my first build.

The truck is factory except 31's for tires, a stronger clutch and now motor. I just finished breaking it in (500 miles of gentle driving) and will perform its second oil change and valve lashing this week.

parts (mods) are as follows:
(using Fel-Pro gaskets)

stock bottom end with crank scaper
New Pistons with total seal rings (honed but stock bore as it was within spec)
ARP head studs
Dual Timing chain kit
LC EFI Pro head (port/polished with 1mm over stock valves)
LC EFI Pro cam:
Valve Lash .008 .012
Valve Lift 440" 440"
Advertised Duration 280° 280°