Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey yall,

So im new to the pirate forum. Been lurkin on here for a while as well as other nissan/toyota forums. Im am planning on "trying" to SAS (SOA) my junk once I get my whole setup planned out. Just another broke as college kid so it will be slower than hell and one some more of a tight/low budget. I have been searching my ass of for the past few months so I think im headin in the right direction, but im still looking for a little clarification.

Right now im dealing with a 04 frontier desert runner (not by choice). I am utimately wanting to run 37's, but initially will probably start with 35's. I plan on using a D44 (either ford HP 76-77 if i can get a hold of it first, or a simpler waggy axle). I know that 37's are pushing the limits of the 44 but i know that i will not use a d60 to its potential and ide like to think im easy on the skinny pedal. I also want to put a 9in in the rear. I feel that these are 2 fairly easy axles to maintain and source parts for. I dont do hardcore rocks being that im in NC, so mainly just going to be using it for trails and whatever else I can find. I am not worried about upgrading the axle right off the bat, I just want to get it under the truck and rolling first. I will still pick up better parts as I go along but just keeping that in mind.

So with the d44 I "want" to get: front disc brake conversion, high steer, chromoly shafts to get the better u-joints (once stock shafts break or are not usable) and 5.39 gears for the 37's, warn premium hubs, possibly rotate the C's?, some sort of locker (eventually ARB selectable), and open knuckles. ALso curious if i can change bolt pattern to 6x5.5 which is what my truck is already. I know that there is other stuff that im forgetting right now but these are the major items I can think of right now.